Meeting the Matchmaker


 

Friend of a Friend Matchmaking
Used with Permission

 

Hello Readers!

If you’re a regular reader you’ll know that in December I did something that felt kinda crazy. I put myself out there and crowdsourced my Matchmaking fees. It was a success! Thanks to Tilt Canada, my wonderful friends and followers, and of course Sofi who discounted my rate and contributed to the campaign. I’ve been a supporter of Sofi and her business, Friend of a Friend Matchmaking since the beginning. I feel like we’ve come to a place where, if you’re looking for something serious, it requires a little intervention. Thanks to all of you.

I was thrilled when the campaign “tilted”. Honestly I was a little nervous putting it out there like that. What if nobody contributed? What if I didn’t collect enough? But, what if I didn’t try? You’ve stepped up to the plate and made this a reality. So here we go, this is what happened next.

I received my intro email from Sofi and had a bit of trouble filling out the questionnaire. I’m not going to give you any details but it makes you realize that maybe you haven’t really thought about what it is you’re looking for in a partner. Once I returned my answers a follow up email wasn’t too far behind. I was anxious to get started and picked the first available time slot.

The interwebs is a funny thing and although I’d never met Sofi in real life I felt like we were old friends. We know a lot of the same people and have spent some time interacting online. We shook hands but it didn’t feel like enough, so I asked her if it would be okay to hug her. She replied with a big hug and mentioned she’d been wondering if hugging would be appropriate. We were off to a good start.

We chatted at length of relationship stuff. We talked about past relationships and what I thought I was looking for etc. The meeting was really a way for her to get to know me and to get a feel about the kind of person I am. I was open and honest and I feel very positively about the experience.

As I was getting ready to leave she let me know that she already had a few matches in mind. That’s pretty exciting! I tweeted as I was leaving the meeting, about being excited and wouldn’t you know it Twitter responded with a very positive message – “She is very good at her job,” I typed on my iphone while in bed next to my partner.” is what came back.

I’m excited, nervous and very hopeful. I’ve said it before, this year is going to be interesting. Stick around, I’ll keep you posted!

Sofi Friend of a Friend Matchmaking

4 thoughts on “Meeting the Matchmaker

Leave a Reply

