Country Music Wins My Love


It’s been a crazy year of country music for me. Early last July I wouldn’t have said I was a country music listener. All my car radio stations were tuned to typical pop/rock stations of Toronto and then something happened, something changed everything. I was invited to shoot a country music festival so I started doing some research. I downloaded some tracks, bands who were part of the line up. My iTunes bill may have crept up just a little bit and the love started.

I did some listening on Rdio, ask my Facebook friends. They know. Research. That’s how it started. What I learned was that I liked this, and that, and oh, that too. I woke up with these songs in my head and they stayed there. I fought it, just a little bit. It didn’t take long before two of my car radio presets were set to the country stations surrounding Toronto. Hello KX96FM and KX94.7 – you are in my car and on my phone. Thank you. You prepared me, a least a little bit for Boots and Hearts and I continue to be a listener.

To be fair, I’d been to a country show before – July 1st, 2009 CMT Canada Jam in Toronto, as a matter of fact. So I’d seen a few country acts and I may have fallen in love just a little bit with Emerson Drive. Okay, maybe more than a little bit. They would be the headliner on Thursday night at my first Boots & Hearts, year 2 of the Festival. This year, that festival won a CCMA Award for Music Festival of the Year.

Below is a rundown of the country music acts I’ve had the privilege of hearing, shooting or interviewing. Thank you to all of the artists, management, security, volunteers and those around me, who made it possible.

The Stone Sparrows
the stone sparrows meghan green background boots and hearts
Tim Hicks

Tim Hicks 2013 boots and hearts
Emerson Drive

emerson drive  boots and hearts
Cassadee Pope

cassadee pope  boots and hearts
Dean Brody

dean brody boots and hearts
Jason Aldean

jason aldean live 2013  boots and hearts
Chad Brownlee

chad brownlee live boots and hearts 2013
Joe Diffie

boots and hearts 2013 joe diffie sky
MacKenzie Porter

mackenzie porter  boots and hearts
The Band Perry

The Band Perry Boots and Hearts 2013
Whitney Rose

whitney rose   boots and hearts
The Reklaws

Boots and Hearts Friday July 31 2014 The Reklaws
Rascal Flatts

Rascal Flatts live  at Boots and Hearts
High Valley

high valley live  boots and hearts
Jason Blaine

jason blaine  boots and hearts-
Dierks Bentley

dierks bentley live boots and hearts
Miranda Lambert

Miranda Lambert live at Boots and Hearts 2013
Marshall Dane

CNE 2013 Marshall Dane
Whitney Rose

CNE 2013 Whitney Rose at The Bandshell
Brett Eldredge

brett eldredge instagram #lightthefuse
via Brett Eldredge


Little Big Town

little big town #lightthefuse
via Little Big Town


Keith Urban

keith urban instagram #lightthefuse #KeithUrbanTO
The Reklaws

The Reklaws Saturday August 2 2014 Boots and Hearts 2014
Natalie Stovall and the Drive

Natalie Stovall and The Drive Boots and Hearts 2014
Brett Kissel

Brett Kissel at Boots and Hearts 2014
Dallas Smith

Dallas Smith Boots and Hearts 2014
Jordan McIntosh

Jordan McIntosh Boots and Hearts 2014 Front Porch Stage Friday
Jess Moskaluke

Jess Moskaluke Boots and Hearts 2014
Sam Hunt

Sam Hunt Boots and Hearts 2014 Front Porch Stage Friday
Tim Hicks

Tim Hicks Boots and Hearts 2014 Saturday August 2, 2014
Runaway Angel

Boots and Hearts Runaway Angel
Trinity Bradshaw

Trinity Bradshaw Saturday August 2 2014 Boots and Hearts 2014 SiriusXM Emerging Artist Finalist
Ty Baynton

Ty Baynton Boots and Hearts


One More Girl

One More Girl Boots and Hearts 2014
Paul Brandt

Boots and Hearts Friday August 1 2014 Paul Brandt Boots and Hearts
Sawyer Brown

Boots and Hearts Satday August 2 2014 Sawyer Brown
Tim Hicks

Tim Hicks Boots and Hearts 2014 Saturday August 2, 2014
Lee Brice

Boots and Hearts Sunday August 3 2014 Lee Brice
Luke Bryan

Luke Bryan Boots and Hearts 2014 Saturday August 2, 2014
Abrams Brothers

Abrams Brothers CNE2014
Dan + Shay

Boots and Hearts Sunday August 3 2014 Dan + Shay

The Reklaws

Boots and Hearts Sunday August 3 2014 The Reklaws
Danielle Bradbery
Boots and Hearts Sunday August 3 2014 Danielle Bradbery
Neal McCoy

Neal-McCoy-Main-Stage-Boots-and-Hearts-2014
Gord Bamford

Boots and Hearts Sunday August 3 2014 Gord Bamford
Trinity Bradshaw

Boots and Hearts Sunday August 3 2014 Trinity Bradshaw
Ty Baynton

Ty Baynton Boots and Hearts

I signed a photo release and these photos can only be seen at thereviewsarein.com 

Hunter Hayes – visit thereviewsarein.com to see photos
Blake Shelton – visit thereviewsarein.com to see photos


Runaway Angel

Runaway Angel

Leah Daniels

CNE 2014 Leah Daniels
Marshall Dane

Marshall Dane CNE2014
Abrams Brothers

Abrams Brothers CNE2014
Kira Isabella

Kira Isabella CNE2014
Tim Hicks

Tim Hicks CNE2014
Tebey

Tebey CNE 2014 August 23, 2014


Gord Bamford

Gord Bamford CNE

Thomas Rhett

Thomas Rhett Rock'n' Horse

It’s been one helluva ride. I’m in love with country music and I can’t wait for the next memory.

4 thoughts on “Country Music Wins My Love

Leave a Reply

