A Day at the Track – Ricoh Woodbine Mile


It takes a lot to get me out of bed early in the morning. There are very few things that will get me up at 6:00 a.m.  It’s a very short list. Horses are on that list. I was thrilled to be invited to visit the backstretch at Woodbine this morning and I had no trouble waking up. I was excited. I’m not sure how, but it had been 7 years since I’d been up close and personal with a horse. I used to ride 3 or 4 times a week but found my love of dragon boating had conspired against my horseback riding schedule. I’ve been thinking about riding again a lot lately. Today may have pushed me over the edge.

I was introduced to Keith McCalmont – @TripleDeadHeat, via email thanks to Joshua Murray. He was unable to attend the backstretch tour this morning and knew I would be thrilled to take his place. Keith met me in the parking lot bright and early this morning (ok, not track time early but early by my standards). Keith was a wonderful host.  He was full of helpful information and he knew everyone. Everyone was extremely friendly and welcoming.

it’s a blurry iPhone image but it makes me happy.

The reason for my visit? Today they had Canada’s gold medallist, Rosie MacLennan drawing post positions for Sunday’s Ricoh Woodbine Mile. Prize money – $1,000,000 Guaranteed. Hard not to get excited about a million dollars!

Post Positions as follows:

  1. Riding the River
  2. Dance and Dance
  3. Wise Dan
  4. Arctic Fern
  5. Big Band Sound
  6. Hunters Bay
  7. Cityscape
  8. Holinger
  9. Worthadd

I’m looking forward to Sunday and getting back to the track. It’s a gorgeous facility and it’s been too long. Bring on the excitement. Want $25 to spend at Woodbine? Food, drinks or betting money, up to you.  Check out @phjoshua’s contest here!

I’m still smiling. I snuggled a horse today.

Leave a Reply

