Second Skin MedSpa – Daily Deal Find of the Month


Second Skin Reception Area

I received an email from FabFind last week. This, in and of itself, is not unusual. I get a lot of emails from group deal sites. It’s been quite a while since I purchased anything. I know I’m not alone in this. We are feeling what is known as “group buying saturation”.  However, this one piqued my interest.

The deal of the day was for a MedSpa,  Second Skin.  $99 for 20 units of botox.  Intriguing. A slippery slope?  Maybe, but one I’ve been thinking about lately. Technically I’ve done this before. I get botox for migraine headaches (it helps, a lot)  cosmetic usage is a little different. Most of the points for the headache treatment are in the scalp, neck and shoulders.

I didn’t just jump on the deal. Oh no. I did some research first. A few Google searches – “best areas to treat with botox”, “second skin reviews”, “second skin compaints”.  A good  search can save a lot of trouble. Always do your research. A great deal isn’t a great deal if the staff is rude or they treat you like a second class citizen. I also found a post on the TeamBuy Q&A page by the spa owner offering to answer questions while their deal was live. Gutsy.

Second Skin is located at Yonge & Eglinton.  I’m familiar with the area and it’s on the way home.  I arrived at 6:20 for a 6:30 appointment. I was greeted by a friendly staff member named Tino (turns out he’s one of the owners). After filling out my paperwork and getting me a glass of water I was taken into a treatment room. Tino would be treating me. I was reassured by the wall of certificates including his B.Sc. and RN credentials. He’s spent a lot of time training for this. That’s good.

We reviewed my form, asked and answered some questions. One of the questions on the form was “have you taken any aspirin or NSAIDs (nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory). I personally take way too many ibuprofen (that’s another story) and this increases the risk of bruising due to the blood thinning properties of these NSAIDs. We discussed this and I wanted to go ahead anyway.

I decided to treat the crow’s feet and the weird little lifty wrinkle I have above my right eyebrow. I was given an ice pack to constrict the blood vessels beside my eye. A few quick injections and we were done. For the record, I woke up the next day with zero bruising and zero swelling. When the treatment was over I asked about other services that they offered.

I was intrigued by their Silkpeel treatment. I spend a lot of time out in the sun in the summer and despite wearing lots of sunscreen and a hat by the end of the dragon boat season I have  sun damage. This treatment looks amazing. Tino mentioned there would be a sale coming up in September and to watch my email. I will. I was also told if I had any questions or concerns regarding my treatment to send an email and it would be answered immediately, the mail goes directly to Tino’s phone when he’s not in the office. I think that’s pretty cool.

Was it pleasant? No. Was it awful? No. Will I be back. Definitely yes. Can I see a difference? Yes and I like it.

My impressions…

A well located nice space that doesn’t feel overdone. Well trained staff who care what happens to you and that they do a great job. Great pricing, even without the deal site specials.  I look forward to spending time with Rose (Tino’s wife) the next time I’m in for a Silkpeel.

I’m giving Second Skin a 5 star rating.

Leave a Reply

